Community Development

Phone: 847-853-7550
Fax: 847-853-7701
1200 Wilmette Avenue
Wilmette, IL 60091
comdev@wilmette.com

The Department of Community Development administers all land use and zoning regulations and coordinates the comprehensive planning process. Community Development is responsible for the enforcement of all building codes as well as zoning, sign, and subdivision ordinances. Community Development provides staff support for the Land Use Committee, Zoning Board of Appeals, Plan Commission, Appearance Review Commission, Housing Commission, Environmental and Energy Commission, Historic Preservation Commission, Administrative Zoning Review Committee, Site Plan Review Committee, Building Code Board of Appeals, and the Electrical Commission.

The Department is responsible for the issuance of building permits for new construction and remodeling as well as sign and fence permits. On an annual basis, the Department issues approximately 3,000 permits. This requires that inspections be made to ensure code compliance. The Department also monitors the purchase and resale of units at the Village Green Atrium, administers the Housing Assistance Program, and coordinates business development activities.

Staff Directory

John Adler
Community Development Director
adlerj@wilmette.com
(847) 853-7528
Lisa Roberts
Assistant Community Development Director
robertsl@wilmette.com
(847) 853-7529
Lucas Sivertsen
Business Development Planner
sivertsenl@wilmette.com
(847) 853-7520
Rachael Randolph
Zoning Review Planner
randolphr@wilmette.com
(847) 853-7519
Ted Blumenthal
Code Enforcement Officer
blumenthalt@wilmette.com
(847) 853-7521
Mike Thompson
Code Enforcement Officer
thompsonm@wilmette.com
(847) 853-7622
John Norman
Building Inspector
normanj@wilmette.com
(847)853-7525
Erika Block
Planner I
blocke@wilmette.com
(847) 853-7522
Aileen Battistoni
Permit Clerk
battistonia@wilmette.com
(847) 853-7527
Consultant
Plumbing Review and Inspection

(847) 853-7524