Engineering & Public Works

711 Laramie Avenue
Wilmette 60091

Hours: 7:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Phone: 847-853-7500
Fax: 847-853-7705
E-mail: pubworks@wilmette.com

After-Hours Emergency: 847-256-1200

The employees of the Engineering and Public Works Department are committed to protecting the health, safety and general well-being of all Village residents by delivering outstanding public services and quality public infrastructure in a reliable, efficient and environmentally responsible manner.

The Engineering and Public Works Department is comprised of the following divisions:

• Engineering Services
• Buildings and Grounds
• Street Division
• Water/Sewer Division
• Vehicle Maintenance
• Forestry

Engineering Services consists of a staff of three licensed professional engineers, one project manager, and one engineering assistant. These five professionals have many years of combined engineering and construction experience. Engineering Services is responsible for providing all engineering services for the Village related to:

• The planning, design and construction of public capital projects
• Site plan review and oversight of the design and construction of private development projects
• Engineering inspection of public and private construction projects
• Issuing permits for and inspecting construction in the Village rights-of-way

The organization also consists of the Street Division, Forestry Division, Water and Sewer Division, Vehicle Maintenance Division, and an Administrative Support Group. The various divisions within the department operate and maintain infrastructure and equipment for Wilmette’s public streets, street lighting, right-of-way landscape maintenance, forestry program, water distribution system, sewer collection system, refuse collection including yard waste and recycling collection, and the repair of vehicles and equipment. Each one of these services is provided by a capable, well-trained, dedicated staff, many of which have considerable tenure and experience. These services include:

• Resident inquiries/Customer Service and Dispatching
• Parkway Tree Management and Landscaping
• Street Sweeping and Street Patching
• Water Main Maintenance and Repairs
• Sanitary, Storm and Combined Sewer Maintenance and Repairs
• Street Lighting Maintenance and Repairs
• Contract Oversight for Refuse, Recycling and Yard Waste Pick-up
• Street and Sidewalk Snow Removal Operations
• Maintenance and Repair of all Village Vehicles

The Engineering and Public Works Department normally operates Monday through Friday from 7:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. In the event of an emergency, residents should call the Wilmette Police Department’s non-emergency telephone number at 847-256-1200 and they will notify the Public Works on-call employee.

Staff Directory

Brigitte Berger
Engineering & Public Works Director
bergerb@wilmette.com
(847) 853-7627
Guy Lam
Deputy Public Works Director
lamg@wilmette.com
(847) 853-7595
Russ Jensen
Village Engineer
jensenr@wilmette.com
(847) 853-7602
Jorge Cruz
Assistant Village Engineer
cruzj@wilmette.com
(847) 853-7623
Steve Rindfleisch
Street Superintendent
rindfleischs@wilmette.com
(847) 853-7584
Ron Kretsch
Water/Sewer Superintendent
kretschr@wilmette.com
(847) 853-7582
Kurt Smith
Vehicle Maintenance Superinendent
smithk@wilmette.com
(847) 853-7583
John Ramaker
Facilities Supervisor
ramakerj@wilmette.com
(847) 853-7624
Danielle Horn
Project Manager
hornd@wilmette.com
(847) 853-7628
Kevin Sorby
Forester
sorbyk@wilmette.com
(847) 853-7600
John Kemppainen
Forester
kemppainenj@wilmette.com
(847) 853-7587
Bill Bagel
Utility Technician
bagelb@wilmette.com
(847) 853-7589
Kate Amoruso
Management Assistant
amorusok@wilmette.com
(847) 853-7588