The Police Department is committed to youth and teen safety and provides the following programs to help guide teens and parents:
- Teen Driving Laws
- Underage Drinking- Parents who Host Lose the Most
Curfew hours for any person under 17 years of age:
- Between 11:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. on any Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday
- Between 12:01 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. on any Friday or Saturday; and
- Between 12:01 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. on any Sunday.
Illinois law stipulates that the nighttime driving curfew for Graduated Drivers License (GDL) holders is as follows:
- Drivers under age 18 may not operate a motor vehicle between the hours of 10 p.m. and 6 a.m., Sunday through Thursday, and between 11 p.m. and 6 a.m. on Friday and Saturday.
- Exemptions in the law allow new drivers to drive to and from employment or school-sanctioned activities outside the restriction times.
- Underage drivers convicted of violating the new driving curfews may have their driver’s license suspended.
Underage Drinking- Parents Who Host, Lose the Most
What parents should know:
- As a parent, you cannot give alcohol to your teen’s friends under the age of 21, even in your own home, even with their parent’s permission.
- You cannot knowingly allow a person under 21, other than your own child, to remain in your home or on your property while consuming or possessing alcohol.
- You are deemed to have permitted the use of your residence for persons less than 21 years of age to consume alcohol if you knowingly authorize, enable or permit the use of alcohol to occur by failing to control access to either the residence or the alcoholic liquor maintained in the residence.
If you break the law:
- Under Illinois law, you can face a sentence of up to a year in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000. In the event a serious injury or death occurs, you can be charged with a felony and face a sentence of up to 3 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $25,000.
- You can face a fine of not less than $100 upon the first conviction and not less than $750 for any subsequent conviction; and a period of supervision not to exceed one year under Village of Wilmette Ordinance.
- Others may be able to sue you if you give alcohol to anyone under 21 and they, in turn, hurt someone, hurt themselves or damage property.
- Names and addresses of those charged with permitting underage drinking in their homes may be published in Wilmette, Chicago and national newspapers.
Things you can do as a parent:
- Refuse to supply alcohol to persons under 21.
- Be at home when your teen has a party.
- Make sure that alcohol is not brought into your home or property by your teen’s friends.
- Talk to other parents about not providing alcohol at other events your child will be attending.
- Create enjoyable alcohol-free opportunities and activities in your home so teens will feel welcome.
“Campaign developed by Ohio’s Drug-Free Action Alliance.”